Indie Ear Candy (Music)

Did I mention? I absolutley adore Indie music! When I head onto the Itunes music store I don’t look at what everyone else is buying (ok maybe sometimes but most of that music is trash and ok I’ll admit it that’s how I found 4 Minutes by Madonna which I totally love). But anyhow back on track. I look at Indie artists which I discovered from their Indie spotlight or that they recommended to me on that just for you thing and I go to the section where it says Listeners Also Bought… and sort through that list. The method isn’t usually  surefire. A good find is kinda hard in a slew of tacky music (there’s a lot let me tell you), but on the days where I have the mean reds I try and try and every once in awhile I’ll find some music to adore.

I don’t know how I discovered Soko’s Take My Heart (have a story for every song I find, but know I have about 300 downloaded songs so it’s kinda hard to remeber), but it’s survived through many playlists. How? And why wouldn’t it? The answer is simple. I search for music and listen to the music on New Music Tuesdays. I find songs I like and add them to my list of desired songs. I have to wait until I get gift cards. Then I download a bunch of songs and make new playlists for that, and I’ll just listen to that one playlist over and over until the next card comes in. But there are exceptions. Take My Heart has made it through five playlists and has been added to my specific playlists (for specific needs or specific themes).

Let me tell you about some my favorites: Vampire Weekend (heard about them on Teen Vogue…  Let me tell you I loved em the second I heard em), Voxtrot (I have no idea how I discovered them… by accident I suppose), Soko (i just love her voice and her accent is soooo cute), Au Revoir Simone (my friend really liked this artist and highly recommended it to me… we recommend music to each other… thanx Christian!), The Brunettes (to be honest I wasn’t a fan at first then I kept listening and I was like hey pretty darn good!), Glass Candy ( I was never really a fan of techno until recently and her sound is definetly 80s inspired but at the same time futuristic), Anya Marina (her songs are really nice. Her song Miss Halfway is perfect for those icky days when you are like ughhhhh I feel ugly today), and The Rosewood Thieves (really cool love the guitar).

Recently I discovered http://pitchforkmedia.com (link… click it, baby!). I am in cyberspace heaven there! It’s sooooo awesome. I’ve got to say I’m visiting there for recommendations for good music. I don’t nessicarly hate everything everybody else is downloading… It’s just I like to be a class a orginal like Coco Chanel said “To be irreplaceable, one must always be different”. Let’s disect (eww horrid word let’s instead say) break down the quote. If there is nothing like you you can never be replaced because nothing would match up. To me Indie music represents that. I desire and aspire to be higher than the rest (fashionably, intellectually, and creatively)

Here are some videos:

This one is Mansard Roof by Vampire weekend

This one is The Dandy Cowboys by Soko

This one is Honey, Stay Awhile by The Rosewood Thieves

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] Adorability- Be Adorable wrote an interesting post today on Indie Ear Candy (Music)Here’s a quick excerpt … we recommend music to each other… thanx Christian!), The Brunettes (to be honest I wasn’t … a fan at first then I kept listening and I was like hey pretty darn good!), Glass Candy ( I was never really a fan of techno until recently and her sound is definetly 8… […]

  2. 2

    […] Adorability- Be Adorable wrote an interesting post today on Indie Ear Candy (Music)Here’s a quick excerptI search for music and listen to the music on New Music Tuesdays. … Then I download a bunch of songs and make new playlists for that, and I’ll just listen to that one playlist over and over until the next card comes in. But there are exceptions…. … but on the days where I have the mean reds I try and try and every once in awhile I’l l find some music to adore. … I don’t know how I discovered Soko’s Take My Heart (have a story for every song I find, but know I have about 300 downloaded songs so it’s… […]

  3. 3

    dushey said,

    Check out Why? – Alopecia. Or Foals. These are some other bands you might really dig.

    Adorability Says: They are pretty good. I like the Foals most though. Love their complex melodies.

  4. 4

    […] adorability wrote an interesting post today on Indie Ear Candy (Music)Here’s a quick excerptI absolutley adore Indie music! When I head onto the Itunes music store I don’t look at what everyone else is buying (ok maybe sometimes but most of that music is trash and ok I’ll admit it that’s how I found 4 Minutes by Madonna which … […]

  5. 5

    […] A Socialite’s Life wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptA good find is kinda hard in a slew of tacky music (there’sa lot let me tell you), but on the days where I have the mean reds I try and try and every once in awhile I’ll find some music to adore. I don’t know how I discovered Soko’s … […]

  6. 6

    […] but most of that music is trash and ok I??ll admit it that??s how I found 4 Minutes by Madonna whhttps://adorability.wordpress.com/2008/04/20/indie-ear-candy-music/Hollywood LOVES Us!!lia sophia is a leader in high fashion jewelry and is featured each month in […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

